when pregnancy gets the best of you.

“You look huge! When are you due?”

“Oh my gosh, you look like you’re ready to pop!”

“Your daughter is precious and you’re already having another one?!”

“Wow, another one already! You know how that happens right?!”

Pregnancy comes with a ton of advice and some backhanded comments from the peanut gallery. Sometimes they’re warranted but if you can see that my daughter is throwing a little fit because I didn’t stop and pick up the Minnie Mouse balloon in Walmart, now might not be the best time.

What do you do when pregnancy gets the best of you?

It’s easy to give advice to someone who is pregnant, especially if you’ve been pregnant yourself…been there done that…but I don’t think the produce aisle is a great place to hear your childbirth horror story or how many hours you spent in labor or why you think I should…fill in the blank.

Why, when someone is talking to a first time (or even second time) mom, do they find it necessary to share everything and anything that went wrong for them? It’s not preparing me for what I don’t know. It’s just giving me more anxiety!

Lets face it, labor is a scary thing. Yes, I do in fact know what needs to be done to bring my child from the inside of my body to the outside of my body. I’ve done this once before…remember 😉

image

I know that babies bring out the best in people, really I do! And any advice comes from a place of sheer joy for bringing more precious little people in the world.

Just do me a favor next time, tell me I look pretty instead of huge. And try not to look like you think I’m crazy (even if you do) 😄

Yes, I know I have my hands full. Yes, I know I’m crazy for having 2 under 2. But if you honestly knew me you’d understand that I’m not a person who takes big life events one at a time.

Life is chaotic and crazy and I might have the messiest house on the block, but my baby knows how much I love her and when this little one is born she’ll know it too!

And if you had a weekend like me and pregnancy (or life in general) got the best of you, thank the Good Lord you woke up this morning and you get to start again.

3 thoughts on “when pregnancy gets the best of you.

  1. Oh I love this! I have 2 daughters 18 months and 4 month. I was basically pregnant for two years. This is so awesome. I tell pregnant women one things: you look fantastic! It’s so hard being pregnant especially with other children.
    I hope you are feeling great and getting lots of rest!! Enjoy all those moments with your oldest until your new baby comes. It’s hard to get uninterrupted time with them. Good luck to you with labor mama!!

    Like

  2. I hope that when I saw you the other day, I didn’t offend you. You have an absolutely beautiful pregnant belly and it was the first thing that came out of my mouth when I saw you. Pregnancy is beautiful and so are you!

    Like

Leave a comment